Please disable adblock to view this page.

← Go home

LAN Standards


October 28, 2016
Published By : Pratik Kataria
Categorised in:


A local area network (LAN) is a communications system that allows the interconnection and sharing of resources between independent devices within a moderately sized geographic area.
Distributed data interface networks
Ethernet networks
Token-ring networks
Wireless networks

Ethernet networks

Ethernet is one type of local area network (LAN) topology that the i5/OS™ operating system supports. i5/OS Ethernet provides support for the Digital Equipment Corporation, Intel Corporation, and Xerox standard (Ethernet Version 2) and the IEEE 802.3 standard.
Types of Ethernet Network:

  • Half-duplex Ethernet
  • Full-duplex Ethernet
  • Fast Ethernet

Half-Duplex Ethernet

Generally, multiple stations in an Ethernet network show a single data path. Therefore, only one station may transmit data at a time. This is called half-duplex Ethernet. The station may transmit only or receive only, but not both simultaneously.

Full-Duplex Ethernet

Full-duplex Ethernet enables stations to simultaneously send and receive data on the network, eliminating collisions. This is accomplished through the use of a full-duplex LAN switch. Ethernet switching splits a large Ethernet into smaller segments. Full-duplex Ethernet requires the following:
Twisted-pair cable transmission medium
Ethernet network interface cards
A full-duplex LAN switch
Full-duplex 10 Mbps Ethernet has simultaneous 10 Mbps receiving and 10 Mbps sending paths.

Fast Ethernet

Fast Ethernet standard (IEEE 802.3U) increases Ethernet by operating speeds from 10 Mbps to 100, half or full duplex. The iSeries® Ethernet adapters support 100BASE-TX network devices that use category 5 shielded and unshielded twisted-pair (STP, UTP) cable.

Ethernet 802.3

802.3 is a standard specification for Ethernet, a method of physical communication in a local area network (LAN), which is maintained by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
In general, 802.3 specifies the physical media and the working characteristics of Ethernet.
The original Ethernet supports a data rate of 10 megabits per second (Mbps).
10BASE-2 (Thinwire coaxial cable with a maximum segment length of 185 meters)
10BASE-5 (Thickwire coaxial cable with a maximum segment length of 500 meters)
10BASE-F (optical fiber cable)
10BASE-T (ordinary telephone twisted pair wire)
10BASE-36 (broadband multi-channel coaxial cable with a maximum segment length of 3,600 meters)
The “10” in the media type designation refers to the transmission speed of 10 Mbps.
The “BASE” refers to baseband signaling, which means that only Ethernet signals are carried on the medium (or, with 10BASE-36, on a single channel).
The “T” represents twisted-pair; the “F” represents fiber optic cable
The “2”, “5”, and “36” refer to the coaxial cable segment length (the 185 meter length has been rounded up to “2” for 200).